Skinny Elf No-Bake Cheesecake- (THM ~ S)

20160331_155626Remember those no-bake cheesecake recipes you could find on the bottom of those Keebler graham cracker crust lids? Well, that cheesecake was hands down my favorite dessert growing up. I LOVED it! I always asked for it for my birthday. Once I became Type 1 diabetic, though, I didn’t make it nearly as often, but I would still indulge every once in a while. I got to thinking this spring, though. I bet I could come up with a GREAT THM version of it! My first attempt tasted great, but it didn’t really slice and really needed a spoon to eat, so I consulted with my gelatin experts (ha!) and made a second version with gelatin. Bingo! I got the great taste from the cheesecake, and the gelatin helped it to set up nicely.

Here are some ideas and suggestions- You can use an 8-inch springform pan with a half recipe of crust and one full recipe of filling to make a small cheesecake that is shaped like a cheesecake. You can also make a full recipe of crust, double this recipe for filling, and use a 10-inch springform pan to make a large cheesecake.

Click HERE for a printable PDF copy of the recipe.


 

Skinny Elf No-Bake Cheesecake- (THM ~ S)

1 full recipe of the Simple Simon Almond Pressed Crust (Trim Healthy Mama Cookbook p. 323)

(Or, you can make a similar pie crust of your own. Pinterest has plenty of options!)

1 (8 oz) package of room-temperature cream cheese (full fat or reduced fat works)

2 Tbsp THM Super Sweet Blend (or Pyure)

2 t vanilla

1 cup sour cream

1 cup heavy whipping cream

2 Tbsp cold water

2 Tbsp hot water

1 Tbsp THM Just Gelatin (or 1 package of Knox unflavored gelatin)

optional toppings: Handy Chocolate Syrup (THM Cookbook p. 479), berries of your choice, caramel sauce of your choice (again, Pinterest is great for this!), nuts… (you get the idea!)

 

Directions:

  1. Make your pie crust and press it into the bottom of a large pie pan. I suggest a 9-inch pan, or a deep dish pan if possible! This filling makes a LOT!
  2. Beat heavy cream with a whisk or mixer until it is whipped cream, then set it in the fridge.
  3. Dissolve gelatin in cold water, then set aside.
  4. In your mixer bowl, beat the cream cheese until smooth and gradually add the sweetener.
  5. Add the hot water to the gelatin and mix well until fully dissolved.
  6. Blend in sour cream, dissolved gelatin, and vanilla thoroughly. Fold in whipped cream, blending well.
  7. Spoon into crust and chill until set, at least 4 hours.
  8. Garnish with desired toppings.

 

Leave a Reply

